• Home
  • Agency
  • PTFoMS welcomes designation of PNP as Focal Point for Media Safety

PTFoMS welcomes designation of PNP as Focal Point for Media Safety

By on January 14, 2022 0

MANILA – The Presidential Task Force on Media Safety (PTFoMS) has welcomed the decision of the Chief of the Philippine National Police (PNP), General Dionardo Carlos, to designate Colonel Roderick Augustus Alba as Focal Point for Protection and Security of all journalists and media workers during the national campaign. elections.

Alba, the head of the PNP’s Public Information Office (PIO), will be assisted by his counterparts in the country’s regional offices.

“Gen. Carlos’ clear understanding of the role of the media in a peaceful national election is truly exceptional,” PTFoMS Executive Director, Undersecretary Joel Sy Egco, said in a press release Friday.

Carlos announced Alba’s appointment on Thursday in response to the PTFoMS request for a PNP focal point to the Department of Home Affairs and Local Government (DILG).

The focal person should coordinate directly with assigned PTFoMS Special Agents to expedite the investigation and resolution of cases of violence, threats and intimidation against journalists.

“I have known the leader of the PNP since 2016 when he was a former spokesperson for the PNP. He really has a heart and genuine concern for the welfare of all members of the Filipino media. He also knows that PIOs are the best focal points to uphold the safety and security of all media, as they already have a deep connection and relationship with journalists,” Egco said.

Egco added that Carlos’ dedication to ensuring the safety, security and absence of violence of the national and local elections on May 9 “will really happen” and that Alba “will do an outstanding job of ensuring safety and security. of all media workers and journalists during the elections. ”.

“The infamous Ampatuan, Maguindanao massacre in November 2009 is a constant reminder that most media workers are vulnerable months before, during and months after every election,” Egco said. “We will never let that happen again.”

The DILG and the PNP are members of the working group under the Office of the President. (RP)