Indy500: in the big leagues

By on May 31, 2021 0

Helio Castronovs joined the big leagues by winning the Indianapolis 500 for the fourth time in his career on Sunday.

After the legends of distinguished AJ Foyt, Al Anser Sr. and Rick Myers, the Brazilian veteran is only the fourth driver in history to achieve this feat.

Mayor Shank took the lead with just two laps to go at the expense of Castronews Spaniard Alex Palov, who was hired as a freelance writer for the racing team, who beat him by half a second to His arrival.

Frenchman Simon Pagenad, former Castronovs teammate at Penskew and winner of this annual classic in 2019, finished third.

Spider Man

After this unexpected victory, Castronevs left his car and climbed the fence in front of the main stand, his habit.

“I love racing in Indianapolis,” said the 46-year-old. I especially want to thank my team for trusting me. Words don’t describe my feelings. “

… Nicknamed Spider-Man, he played host to award-winning audiences a year after performing a closed-door fire test due to the outbreak.

“The enthusiasts inspired me and they gave me a lot of energy. It was so inspiring to see them again in such large numbers.

This memorable success was watched by around 135,000 spectators. Assistance representing 40% of the total capacity of the famous motorsport complex.

The fastest in history

Only two yellow flags, recorded, are marked with this 105E The Indianapolis Edition is the fastest in 500 miles of history.

Castronovs finished his run in 2 hours, 37 minutes, 19 seconds, two minutes ahead of the previous mark set by native Tony Conan in 2013.

Previously, the winner had set a record with the second victory in 20 years. Certainly, his first success dates back to 2001. He also won in 2002 and 2009.

Too bad for Dixon

Top scorer Scott Dixon couldn’t stay in first place for long.

New Zealand saw their hopes of winning the race for the second time (after 2008), during their first stop at the fuel tank, when they had a fuel supply problem.

At the start, the race was in vain for the two Canadians. James Hinchcliffe was 21E 40 seconds ahead of the leader, Dalton Kellet had to score 23 pointsE The place also gives a round to the winner.

Indy 500 Quadruple Winners

  • AJ Foyt: 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977
  • Father Al Ansar: 1970, 1971, 1978 and 1987
  • Rick Myers: 1979, 1984, 1988 and 1991
  • Helio Castronevs: 2001, 2002, 2009 and 2021

See also

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *