Buckeyes name four captains for 2021-22 season – Ohio State Buckeyes

By on October 12, 2021 0

Columbus, Ohio – Ohio State head coach Chris Holtmann announced Tuesday that the team has elected four captains for the 2021-22 season. Justin Ahrens, EJ Liddell, prosecuting judge and Kyle Young will all lead Team 123 this year.

This is the first season since 2008 that the team has named captains before the season. See the full list of captains below.

Ahrens is a senior from Versailles, Ohio. The hospitality management major has played 82 career games for the Buckeyes and had 96 three-pointers. Considered one of the team’s best shooters, he has made over 41% of his career three-point attempts. Last season, he won All-Big Ten academic honors.

Liddell is a preseason All-American from Belleville, Ill. He’s averaged 11.7 points and 5.3 rebounds per game in his first two seasons. Last year, he won first-team All-Big Ten honors after averaging 16.2 points per game. He closed his breakout season by being named to the Big Ten tournament all-star team, then scoring 23 points and grabbing 14 rebounds in the NCAA tournament game against Oral Roberts. Liddell is majoring in journalism.

Pursuit shone in his first season on the pitch as a Buckeye last year. The Honolulu, Hawaii native was one of two Buckeyes to start all 31 games and averaged 10.7 points and 5.5 rebounds. The 2021 All-Big Ten Academic Laureate is in his third season with the program and is majoring in Psychology.

Young is a fifth year senior from Canton, Ohio. He played 108 games, made 65 starts and scored 650 points. Young graduated in the spring of 2020 with a sports industry diploma and is working on a master’s degree in sports management. He is also a three-time winner of the Academic All-Big Ten.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.