• Home
  • Athletes
  • Anurag Thakur and elite athletes cheer on participants in the Fit India Quiz State Round

Anurag Thakur and elite athletes cheer on participants in the Fit India Quiz State Round

By on February 8, 2022 0

08 February 2022 15:38 STI

New Delhi [India], Feb 08 (ANI): Union Youth and Sports Minister Anurag Thakur along with elite athletes cheered on the students ahead of the state rounds of the first ever Fit India Quiz, scheduled for the February 10. 360 schools from 189 unique districts across 36 states and union territories will compete for honors.
Union Minister Anurag Thakur said: “Our Honorable Prime Minister Narendra Modi had made the clarion call to join the Fit India movement a few years ago. I congratulate all the students from all over India who participated in the preliminary round of the quiz and I wish good luck to all the contestants of the state round and I hope you will make your school, your district and your community proud. your state”.
The State Rounds will be an online round with 8-32 teams competing to become the State Champion. The event will also be webcast on the social media channels of Ministry of Youth and Sports, Sports Authority of India and Fit India. The quiz has a cash prize of Rs 3.25 crore which will be given to winning schools and students at different phases of the quiz.
Joining Anurag Thakur is a plethora of elite athletes who wished the participating students all the best for the upcoming rounds. “I wish the participants good luck,” said Tokyo Olympics silver medalist Mirabai Chanu.
“I hope all the students will do their best and everyone will cheer for their state to become the first ever Fit India Quiz champion,” added Tokyo Paralympic Games bronze medalist Sharad Kumar.
Table tennis star Manika Batra said, “I wish the participants good luck. May the best state win.”
A total of 36,299 students from 13,502 schools took part in the quiz preliminaries and it saw equal participation from boys and girls. Two students from Uttar Pradesh surpassed students from all other states to become the top scorers in the preliminary round. While Divyanshu Chamoli from Delhi Public School, Greater Noida won first place, he was closely followed by Shashwat Mishra from Sunbeam School, Lahartara, Varanasi. The duo were followed by Arkamita of Baldwin Girls High School in Bengaluru, who is also Karnataka state’s top scorer.
After the state rounds, the 36 school teams (winner from each state and/or union territory) will advance to the national round which will take place later this year. (ANI)